Michigan Medicine

Antimicrobial Stewardship Program



The Antimicrobial Stewardship Program (ASP) at Michigan Medicine is a collaborative effort between the Division of Infectious Diseases, the Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, the Department of Pharmacy Services, Infection Prevention, and Clinical Microbiology. The ASP was established to promote safe, appropriate and cost-effective antimicrobial therapy to optimize patient outcomes and to minimize the selection of pathogenic microorganisms and the emergence of resistance. Tejal N. Gandhi, MD, Clinical Associate Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases, directs the ASP in conjunction with Samuel Aitken PharmD, Ji Baang MD, Karen Davidge PharmD, Nicholas Dillman PharmD, Gregory Eschenauer PharmD, Elizabeth Lloyd MD, Jerod Nagel PharmD, Lindsay Petty MD, Jason Pogue PharmD, Daniel Riggsbee PharmD, Samantha Sallerson PharmD, Jennifer Sweeney MPH, Alison Tribble MD, and Shiwei Zhou MD.

This website is one of our forums to encourage judicious use of antimicrobials. It is our goal provide clinically relevant information on the use of antimicrobials, both new and old, as well as information on other activities of the ASP.